Our Founding Fathers’ Honor and Respect

I don’t claim to be in any way an expert on these prized documents, I just feel that too many Americans have either not looked at them for a long time or have never seen them at all. To my shame I have also neglected to understand how amazing they really are. The men who worked on them were very careful in how they placed every word. This is evident as I examine line by line. I hope you will follow me as I revisit this amazing document.

The first sentence of the Declaration of Independence is:

When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

It is straightforward and unapologetic about the purpose of the document, we are breaking our political ties with you, and assuming a separate and equal station or position.  We are entitled to assume this position by natural law and by God who created it and us. It is out of respect for the opinions of mankind that we lay out our reasons.

Beyond the obvious purpose of this document, I notice that they did not use the word we, but they. They used “a people” instead of we. It leaves the impression that these men could see the potential for the document to be used in the future, sort of like a template. Maybe they knew that honor and respect among the people would create a society much sought after. That’s just my opinion, but…

MAKESENSEDONIT

About spaide

On calling a spaide a spaide, I simply placed my initials in front of my goal. I want to aide people who may be living in fear over the condition of America. I started my website with that goal in mind and although I am self taught on computer usage, I endeavor to make it continually better. I think that if people are prepared for anything, that fear is dissipated. This is the same concept as banking a savings account, or IRA, it is preparing for the unknown. I submit that a dollar that is not backed by gold is simply a piece of paper, hence preparing may require more tangible items.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

